Mount Evans

Alberta. Mount
N of Middle Whirlpool River, E of Mount Kane
52.4419 N 118.1294 W — Map 083D08 — GoogleGeoHack
Name officially adopted in 1935
Official in Canada
Edgar Evans in 1911

Edgar Evans in 1911

Named for Edgar Evans [[1876-1912], a Royal Navy petty officer and member of the “Polar Party” in Robert Falcon Scott’s ill-fated expedition to the South Pole in 1911–1912. A group of five men attained the Pole on 17 January 1912. Evans was the first to die on the return; he had accidentally cut his hand and the wound would not heal. The rest of the party subsequently also perished.

Three mountains in the Whirlpool River valley were named in 1913 to commemorate men lost in the expedition. See Mount Scott.


Also see:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *