Premier Range

Name adopted in 1962
Feature type: Range
Province: British Columbia
Location: Headwaters of Canoe River
Latitude: 52°45’00”
Longitude: 119°33’00”
NTS map: 83D/12
Official name listed at BC Geographical Names
Also listed at Geographical Names in Canada
Google Maps

“Premier Group” was adopted 6 September 1927 by Order in Council, as arranged by British Columbia and the Geographic Board of Canada to mark the Diamond Jubilee of Confederation; the unnamed mountains in the group set aside to commemorate former prime ministers of Canada. The form of the name was changed to “Premier Range” in 1962, and it was agreed that those peaks over 10,000 feet would be named after deceased former Prime Ministers of Canada

The range is bounded by the Raush and North Thompson rivers on the south and west, and the Albreda, Camp, Canoe, McLennan, and Fraser rivers to the east and north.

During Canada’s Diamond Jubilee in 1927, the higher peaks in this range were reserved for the names of premiers or prime ministers of Canada, British Columbia, and Great Britian. Arthur Meighen, John Oliver, Lester Pearson, Mackenzie King, Richard Bennett, Sir John Abbott, Sir John Thompson, Sir Mackenzie Bowell, Sir Wilfred Laurier, and Pierre Elliott Trudeau (2006) have so far lent their names to peaks in the range.


  • Anon. “Place names in the Premier Range, Cariboo Mountains, B.C.” Canadian Alpine Journal, Vol. 46 (1963):20. Alpine Club of Canada
  • British Columbia Geographical Names. Government of BC. Premier Range. BCGN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *